October 2nd – more on Breast Cancer

I do hope that there will be a cure for breast cancer in my lifetime.

I’ve been deeply affected by breast cancer – many of my relatives and friends have fought a great battle against it.  Some have passed away, some are still fighting, and some are survivors!

I hope that if you are reading this, you will be sure to schedule your annual mammogram as soon as possible.  Please remind your female relatives and friends to schedule theirs as well.   Monthly breast self-exams are vitally important as well. 

I’d like honor and mention a few of my relatives and friends here:

  • Pat M, my mother-in-law – she’s an inspiration…she is a 26 year SURVIVOR following her mastectomy in 1984!
  • Betty S, my grandma, who fought and beat breast cancer in the ’80s, but died from a stroke in 1999.
  • Betty S, my longtime friend, who fought valiantly but succumbed not quite two years ago.
  • Christine S, college friend, also fought but succumbed a few years ago.
  • Cathy E, college friend, roommate for one semester, also fought but succumbed several years ago.
  • Kelly M, longtime friend from childhood, valiantly battling.  I admire her courage, and keep in touch with her.  I pray that she’s gonna make it.
  • Shari A, another friend from childhood, also valiantly battling.
  • Rebecca C, longtime friend – survivor!
  • Carol M, longtime friend – survivor!
  • Barb C, longtime friend – survivor!
  • Christine C, longtime friend – survivor!

That’s 11 people that I’m close to, and can think of right off the top of my head.  I’m sure there are others.  Two of my friends who passed away were only in their 30s.  PLEASE talk to your doctors, and find out when it’s the appropriate time for you to start having mammograms based on your individual history.

I hope and pray for all those struggling with this disease, and their loved ones.  I celebrate those who have survived.  I honor and miss those who have passed away.

I hope you will all feel free to name the names of your friends and loved ones, as well.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to October 2nd – more on Breast Cancer

  1. Susanna says:

    Great post honoring all the strong women whose lives have been changed from this disease. All of us need to do what we can, whether it’s as small as sending in Yoplait pink cover tops or as big as doing the 3 day walk for the cure.

  2. Linda R. says:

    I’d like to add my dear friend, Sheila H. who lost her battle with this awful disease.

    Great blog and a great cause. I too hope a cure is found soon.

  3. Jim White says:

    Allow me to aded Marilyn Phillips, a dear friend. She battled cancer and won twice, going into full remission. The third time around, it was a more agggressive cancer and it took her from us.

  4. Renee says:

    My grandmother, Dorothy B. is a survivor. I would expect nothing less, though. She’s full of more piss and vinegar than a tainted jar of pickles.

    Here’s to kicking cancer’s ass!

Leave a Reply

