Cyber Friends ARE Real Friends

I spend a great deal of time online.  Some would say too much.  However, those people would be unaware of my life situation.

 My husband and I both have serious, potentially life-threatening illnesses.  I’ve been remiss in blogging about that, but plan to do so, soon.

In any case, my illness is a rare one that affects my immune system.  I do not have antibodies to most things.  It is difficult (and at times, downright dangerous) for me to be in many public situations.  My energy is limited.   I am no longer able to work outside the home.

 That means that I cultivate and develop friendships online.  I feel like I know many people very well, even though we’ve never met in person.

 Today, I got a totally unexpected surprise package in the mail from a cyber friend.  I’ve “known” her for about 5 years or so now.  She sent me a package of a wonderful assortment of teas.  She knows I love tea.  She included a very sweet note about how she was thinking of me, and that knowing I’d been having a rough time lately, she thought it would be helpful to have some soothing tea.

Isn’t that wonderful? 

That act of kindness really touched me.  And, it reminded me that online friends can be every bit as wonderful as friends who live next door.  It’s not the proximity; it’s the connection and the relationship that you establish.

Mind you, I do have plenty of friends next door, in the neighborhood, in my city and state, etc.  They are wonderful, thoughtful, and supportive, too.  I just wanted to point out that it is possible to get to know and appreciate people you meet online.

My friend Renee just reminded me that we met online a few years ago.  Through discussions and emails, we found out that we lived 15 minutes away from each other.  We decided to meet for coffee at a neutral spot, just to make sure neither one of us was some sort of sociopath or psychopath.  LOL!  We quickly found out that we had even more in common than we’d thought, and became great friends in real life, too!  Now she’s one of my very best friends.

That reminds me: another friendship was suggested to me online by a high school friend who now lives in Seattle.  He sent me a note saying that he knew someone still living in our hometown who he thought I’d really enjoy meeting.  He was right!  (Thanks, Jim!)  Now Leslie is one of my best buddies, too, and she only lives 5 minutes away!

I thank God for ALL my friends.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Cyber Friends ARE Real Friends

  1. Renee says:

    It’s also possible for cyber friends to become real life friends. Unfortunately, I can’t think of any examples at the moment 😉

  2. LMAO @ Renee! See, I wasn’t a nasty cyber-stalker. That reminds me; I should edit my post with “our story.” Thanks!

  3. Kel says:

    Sheryl, absolutely cyber friends are real friends. I have “met” many wonderful, caring people online. Some of us may never actually meet in person although I hope we do, but they are definitely part of my life.

  4. Sheryl, ITA. Many of my cyber friends I have met IRL. But many of the ones I haven’t are sometimes better friends than the ones I do see in person. I treasure each and every one!

Leave a Reply

